Quantic-La PlataArtist: Quantic

Release: La Plata
Label: Tru Thoughts 
Genre: World – South America

The third official single from Quantic’s immensely acclaimed ‘Magnetica’ album is “La Plata”, featuring the Colombian singer Nidia Góngora, an increasingly regular collaborator on record and in the live arena.

With lyrics written by Góngora and Will “Quantic” Holland’s buoyant musical backdrop, “La Plata” is a beautifully put-together song that speaks in Spanish on the universal subject of money and the positives and negatives it brings. “There have been many songs about money,” acknowledges Holland; “but I feel the way that Nidia communicates the theme is very unique, and very applicable to Latin America and its increasing class and wealth divide.”

On the hugely successful ‘Magnetica’ live tours of the UK, Europe and North America, the insistent rhythm section and immediately lovable vocal melody – delivered in Góngora’s luminescent folkloric style – saw “La Plata” sending the crowds as wild as any classic Quantic cut, despite the fact it was the first time many had heard it.

The rhythm explored in “La Plata” is loosely based on Chirimía, one of the musical genres of the North West Colombian state of Choco; on a visit to the Choco town of Nuqui, Holland and Góngora found themselves captivated and inspired by the marching band-style snare and cymbal and duelling clarinets that make up the foundation elements of Chirimía. “We heard the local youth brass band play until the early morning, and got really into the music”, Holland elaborates. “The following year, we returned to Nuqui with film-maker B+, having written the song, to shoot the video to “La Plata”.”

Alongside the “La Plata” Radio Edit and Album Version, the single unveils some killer new remixes of album tracks. Two contrasting reworks of “You Will Return” feat. Alice Russell come from Brooklyn based Ahmed Sirour and Tru Thoughts label mate Titeknots. The former’s subtly inventive slant strips back this worldly folk tale before spinning it out into an extended deep house cut abounding with atmospheric echoes and percussion; Titeknots turns out a playful club weapon for serious floors, demonstrating the crisp, melodic and unpredictable sensibility that have placed his own genre-defying house tunes in the sets and playlists of everyone from Tensnake and DJ Zinc to Lauren Laverne and Monki.
Another fast rising star of the Tru Thoughts stable, Werkha – who has been heavily championed by Gilles Peterson and in-demand for tour support including Bonobo and Chet Faker – brings a feast of bass and eccentric bleeps to the tropical rhythmic heat of the Nidia Góngora-voiced “Muevelo Negro”, for a sweltering UK summer.



The Young FolkArtist: The Young Folk
Release: The Little battle
Label: Pixie Pace records
Genre: Pop – Folk

Widely-tipped Irish alt-folk band The Young Folk will release of their debut album ‘The Little Battle’ follows the Dublin four-piece’s debut single ‘Way Home’, which received airplay from BBC Radio 1, BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio Scotland, and the band’s first ever tour of the UK in May 2014.

Comprising of Anthony Furey (guitar, vocals), Tony McLaughlin (bass, mandolin, vocals), Paul Butler (keyboards, vocals) and Karl Hand (drums, vocals), nine of the ten songs on The Little Battle were written by Anthony and features songs about the fearlessness of youth (‘Way Down South’), self-doubt (‘I’ve Been There Before’), making the most of a bad situation (‘Sad Day’) and broken relationships (‘My Friends’). The band’s recent single ‘Way Home’ was inspired by Anthony’s time away from home on tour with father, George Furey of the legendary Irish band The Furey Brothers. The only song on the album not written by Anthony is the track ‘Letters’, written by The Young Folk’s keyboard player and vocalist, Paul Butler. A song about redemption, George Furey liked it so much he wants to record the song with his own band – the ultimate compliment.

Hot Press described the band as “serious challengers for the area populated by the likes of Fleet Foxes, Mumford and Sons and The Low Anthem.”, while Dubliner Magazine labelled the band as “one of the most promising young Irish bands of recent years”.



Billy the KidArtist: Billy the Kid
Release:  Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
Label: Xtra Mile 
Genre: Rock – Singer / Songwriter

New album from Billy The Kid released on Xtra Mile. Produced by and featuring Frank Turner. Billy Pettinger is a Canadian-born singer and songwriter who performs under the moniker Billy the Kid. Her debut release The Lost Cause was produced and engineered by Raine Maida, lead singer of Canadian rock band Our Lady Peace. Billy the Kid released a new album with Jamie Candiloro (Ryan Adams/R.E.M./Willie Nelson) entitled “Stars, Exploding” in November of 2012. In February of 2013 she released “Perspective” where she played all instruments and acted as producer.


see of treesArtist: Darko
Release: Sea of Trees
Label: Lockjaw Records
Genre: Alternative – Punk 

Channeling the technical skill of Protest The Hero, the colossal choruses of Four Year Strong and the brutality of Slayer into a sound that’s got more in common with Pennywise, A Wilhelm Scream and Propagandhi, this lot specialise in melodic, fingertapped guitar intricacy woven into a balls out strain of skate punk. From Surrey’s green hills and predictable houses, something fun, chaotic, complex and noisy is snaking its way out, making a bee-line for your record collection.