meadowlarkArtist: Meadowlark
Release: Three Six Five EP
Label: Believe Recordings 
Genre: Alternative

Plymouth trio Meadowlark will release their debut EP ‘Three Six Five’ on May 26 via Believe Recordings. The band will tour the UK throughout May, including a London show at the Sebright Arms on May 27. 

Lead Track ‘Family Tree’ is the perfect introduction to Meadowlark, as it blends cinematic orchestral arrangements with sparse, echoing piano chimes and subtle guitar swirls that bring to mind the pristine pop traits of London Grammar. Over the course of the EP’s four tracks however, Meadowlark display a diverse pool of emotion, influence and style that range from the hushed, brooding moments on the aptly titled ‘Forlorn’ to the joyous sing-along crescendos on ‘I’ve Got You’. 

As eluded to by the debut EP’s title, the band have been together for just a year (almost exactly to the EP’s release date) after meeting at a Tallest Man On Earth gig and instantly deciding to join forces. The band are fronted by chief songwriter Kate McGill who, at the time of meeting bandmates Carl Jones and Daniel Broadley (who often rotate instrumental duties), was the 13th most subscribed to musician on YouTube, tallying up millions of hits on her covers of Adele, Fleet Foxes and The Shins. 

The Three Six Five EP was recorded and produced by Peter Miles (Dry The River, We Are The Ocean, Sonic Boom Six) at Middle Farm Studios over a period of one week. It boasts four intricate and introspective songs that showcase Meadowlark’s collaborative ability to rework McGill’s songs into fully-fledged soundscapes that reference their mutual love for Bon Iver and Sigur Ros.



etherwoodArtist: Etherwood
Release: Hospital Mixtape: Etherwood 
Label: Hospital Records 
Genre: Dance – Breakbeat / Drum & Bass – Jungle

Hospital are very proud to present their first artist lead mix compilation for over four years. 26 tracks including no less than 9 exclusive previously unreleased tracks. Selected and mixed by man of the moment Etherwood and winner of both “Best Newcomer DJ” and “Best Newcomer Producer” at the 2013 DNBA awards.  Etherwood deftly mixes big names like Jakwob, Camo & Krooked as well as introducing new talent Hugh Hardie, Seifer and Surgical, Taelimb and Keeno as well as D+B scene stalwarts like S.P.Y and DKay.


prince fatty and hollie cookArtist: Prince Fatty, Hollie Cook

Release: Sugar Water 
Label: Mr Bongo
Genre: Reggae 

“Reggae fans and dub selectas, you owe it to yourself to buy this… Deserves to be the soundtrack to your spring, summer and beyond” – 9/10 Bass Explorer

“A perfect encapsulation of the creative camaraderie running through British reggae right now, the sheer diversity of style on show is breathtaking” Clash

“Proving that it is possible to make ’em like they used to” Mojo

5th single from the soundclash record between Brighton’s Prince Fatty (Lilly Allen, Little Barrie, Hollie Cook) and Glasgow’s Major Lazer collaborators Mungo’s Hi-Fi in collaboration with Hollie Cook, who’s2nd album drops this week too.



young folkArtist: The Young Folk
Release: Way Home
Label: Pixie Pace Records
Genre: Alternative Pop

Widely-tipped Irish alt-folk band The Young Folk will release their UK debut single ‘Way Home’ on 26th May, 2014, on Pixie Pace Records, and precede the release with their first ever UK tour. 

The release of Way Home marks the next step in the career of the Dublin four-piece. Having signed an international publishing deal with ARC Music UK, The Young Folk have spent the past eighteen-months recording their debut album The Little Battle and playing notable live dates, including Electric Picnic, The Cambridge Folk Festival, Midem, SXSW, The Stampede City Sessions in Canada, and opening for American folk-rock band Midlake during their American tour at the end of 2013. 

Comprising of Anthony Furey (guitar, vocals), Tony McLaughlin (bass, mandolin), Paul Butler (keyboards) and Karl Hand (drums), The Young Folk have appeared on established national TV shows in Ireland, including RTE’s The Saturday Night Show and TV3’s Ireland AM, and had their music feature on a national advertisement campaign for Jameson Irish Whiskey.