We’ve got lots of great releases for you this week! Check them out below:


Joyce  Rio

LABEL: Far Out Recordings


GENRE: Latin – Bossa Nova

DATE: 5/3/2012

Hailed as one of Brazil’s finest and most versatile singers and songwriters in the Guardian, Joyce returns to her carioca roots with new solo album, “Rio”. This release marks Joyce’s seventh original recording for label Far Out Recordings.

The album is a beautifully intimate acoustic ode to her city, incorporating Brazilian rhythms and her unique scatting vocals with effortless guitar. The tracks showcase her versatility, flitting between cool ballads and rhythmically complex jazz numbers, as well as revisiting vintage classics including songs by Tom Jobim and Caetano Veloso in her own unique way.

“Joyce is the best musician among the women singers who came after Elis Regina” – Caetano Veloso – O Globo – 2012




Various Artists – Blood Pressure

LABEL: Med School


GENRE: Dance – Breakbeat/Drum & Bass – Jungle

DATE: 05/03/2012

Now approaching its fifth year of groundbreaking releases, Hospital Records’ sister label Med School excitedly present 2012’s follow-up to the critically acclaimed “New Blood” series. “Blood Pressure” is out today.

Following on from “New Blood 010? and “New Blood 011?, “Blood Pressure” is a selection of brand new music from Med School family artists like Lung, Joe Syntax, Unquote and Bop alongside familiar names like Blu Mar Ten, Mutated Forms, Fracture, Submerse and Synkro, with each track bringing another interesting layer to the album.






Ice Cream Records – The First Sound of UK Garage 1995-1997 (Mixed by 10 Below)

LABEL: Ice Cream Records


GENRE: Dance – House – 2 Step/Garage

DATE: 05/03/2012

Ice Cream Records present their new 2012 compilation album, ‘The First Sound Of UK Garage 1995-1997’. The album features some of Ice Cream’s biggest releases to hit the UK Garage scene, going all the way back to ’95.

This compilation also carries two heavyweight bonus mixes, first, 10 Below and Kele Le Roc’s “My Love” (2008 Dub Remix), and last but not least, Double 99’s “RipGroove” (2005 Studio Re Lick Mix). Both of these mixes have never been heard outside the Ice Cream camp… this is the first time they have made them available!

Grab your copy of the album here:






Three Trapped Tigers – Numbers: 1-13

LABEL: Blood and Biscuits


GENRE: Alternative

DATE: 05/03/2012

Today sees the release of London spazz-rockers Three Trapped Tigers’ new collection, “Numbers: 1-13” through Blood and Biscuits.

Compiling tracks from their three ultra-limited edition EP releases (2008?s EP, 2009?s EP2 and EP3 from 2010) in a kind of Beta Band stylee, “Numbers: 1-13” will also be played start-to-finish in its entirety for the only time(s) at a special series of launch gigs around the UK in March. The tracklisting is a numbers only affair, literally running from 1 to 13!

“Uniquely inspiring, genre-busting fare from a trio of fiercely creative musicians.” – Mike Diver, BBC Music Review





Metabeats – EyeSeeYou

LABEL: AssociatedMinds

FORMAT: Single

GENRE: Hip Hop

RELEASE DATE: 2/3/2012

‘EyeSeeYou’, the new single by Metabeats is the first track to be taken from his  forthcoming sophomore LP “Caviar Crackle”.

The track featuring the incredible talents of Dubbledge (Dented Records) is a classic example of Edge’s gift for making a point without losing any entertainment along the way. “EyeSeeYou” features Meta’s hypnotic head nod back drop twinned with Edge’s highly original take on the UK Police force’s racial profiling. This AssociatedMinds release is one worth hearing for sure.







Freeze The Atlantic – Volcanoes

LABEL: Alcopop!

FORMAT: Single

GENRE: Rock – Alternative

RELEASE DATE: 05/03/2012

Freeze the Atlantic are back with the much anticipated single “Volcanoes”, and they are “bosser than ever”! The band, which are 1 part Reuben, 1 part Hundred Reasons, and 3 parts other insanely talented rock and roll moguls, formed in 2008 with an ethos of making and enjoying rock music.

The single follows on from their “The Colour By Numbers” EP released almost a year ago, which instantly became the most pre-ordered mp3 on Play.com. Released today, “Volcanoes” is a huge rock anthem to watch out for.

With their stunning debut album in the bag and a new line-up to boot, the band is ready and raring to go – expect exciting things from Freeze the Atlantic in 2012.





Kidnap Kid – Alphaville – EP

LABEL: Black Butter Records


GENRE: House – 2 Step/Garage

RELEASE DATE: 05/03/2012

Kidnap Kid’s latest release “Alphaville – EP” is out today! The electronic act from Leeds/Sheffield includes the other-wordly track “Vehl” on the EP – a hit on Soundcloud for the past few months, which finally makes its full length appearance. Also on the tracklist are the smooth and seductive house number “Lazarus Taxon” and “Be More”, a melodic, percussive 2-stepper.

Kidnap Kid is definitely one to watch out for on Black Butter Records, who were Huw Stephen’s “Label of Love” on Radio One. Kidnap Kid has also just remixed the incredibly successful Disclosure “Tenderly” track.

“Alphaville – EP” is currently receiving spot plays on BBC Radio One from Toddla T and Huw Stephens, as well as support from Skream, Bassnectar and Redlight among many others. Check it out here: