Artist: Various Artists 
Release: Gilles Peterson Presents Brownswood Bubblers Nine
Label: Brownswood Recordings
Genre: Electronic

Worldwide-famous curator Gilles Peterson delivers and distills again a stream of exciting tracks that have become fixtures in his playlists and DJ sets of late to create a suite of perfect bumps in his ninth installment in the much-loved Bubblers series. Shining a spotlight on under-the-radar talent the world over, Bubblers returns with a line up as diverse and exciting as the record bag from which they came; a musical barometer to gauge the sound and stars of 2013.




Artist: Huxley
Release: No Matter What
Label: Tsuba Records
Genre: Electronic – House

Huxley returns to one of his traditional homes, the ever quality house imprint Tsuba, this autumn with two brand new cuts and two reworks from house music royalty, MK. 2012 has seen Huxley’s stock seriously rise with standout releases and remixes sitting comfortably alongside an impeccable gig schedule and many a press plaudit. Tsuba never misses the mark and this 12” is another winner, and one that sees two producers in their element. ‘No Matter What’ is also MixMag’s Tune of the Month.




Artist: Maxxi Soundsystem & Thomas Gandey
Release: Shake Your Head
Label: Moda Black
Genre: Dance

Moda Black close an incredible year with vibes from Maxxi Soundsystem and Thomas Gandey, Jaymo & Andy George, and PBR Streetgang. Tom’s haunting vocals lilt alongside Maxxi’s throbbing bass in two tracks of futuristic, cinematic, low-slung house music. A future classic. On the flipside, two equally killer remixes come courtesy of the irrepressible PBR Streetgang (Future Boogie/Hot Creations) and Moda Black label bosses Jaymo & Andy George.



Artist: Gallops
Release: Yours Sincerely, Dr. Hardcore
Label: Blood and Biscuits
Genre: Rock

‘Yours Sincerely, Dr. Hardcore’ is the debut album from Gallops, a band with lots of buzz from sites like NME and heralded as the new ‘Battles’. A conflict between guitars and electronics is the center piece of this LP packed with power, pace, groove and intelligence. Produced by Matt Calvert (Three Trapped Tigers/Evil Ex) this debut album injects a new panoramic scope into their punchy math-rock. Gallops take everything you know about the more technical, leftfield strands of the musical periphery and turn them inside out.




Artist: Dave Aju
Release: Heirlooms Remixes
Label: Circus Company
Genre: Electronic

With the homespun warmth of his album still keeping us toasty as the temperature drops in the Northern hemisphere, Dave Aju offers up two choice cuts from Heirlooms to receive surgical treatment at the hands of dear friends and respected practitioners in our beloved corner of electronic music. The first a massive bouncy remix from Seth Troxler & Subb-an, followed by a big-room house revamp from Axel Boman.




Artist: Various Artists
Release: Don’t Break My Love
Label: Clown and Sunset
Genre: Electronic

Originally released on the Prism in March 2012 – a physical cubed shaped player that housed the collection – Clown & Sunset now present their ‘virtual version’ of the release, a collection of lost memories from Nicolas Jarr’s label. Featuring tracks from Acid Pauli, Will Epstein, Just Friends and Nicolas Jarr himself, the compilation is a beautiful insight into the label and the delicate and stunning sounds it consistently delivers.




Artist: ATFC
Release: You Know It’s Good
Label: ATFC Music
Genre: Electronic

The 2nd release on ATFC Music presents the label owner in a more mischievous, care free mood than on ‘The Blues’ and bang on time for the party season. ‘You Know It’s Good’ makes no apologies for it’s simple, brass-laden attack on the dance floor and is the perfect antidote for winter stiffness. Early support from selectors including Mark Knight, The Shapeshifters and Prok & Fitch.




Artist: Edward Scissortongue
Release: Better.Luck.Next.Life
Label: High Focus Records
Genre: Hip Hop / Rap

High Focus Records presents ‘Better.Luck.Next.Life’, the debut solo release from Edward Scissortongue. As one fifth of UK rap crew Contact Play, it was agreed that every member would write a solo album before a second crew outing came to pass. The list is slowly being ticked off. It has taken nearly three years for Edward Scissortongue to make this record a reality. Truth be told ‘Better.Luck.Next.Life’ is the culmination of thirteen years of writing lyrics with the intention of making a rap album. The content and context may have changed but this is that album – the album decided upon in 1999.