High Contrast – The Agony & The Ecstasy

LABEL: Hospital Records


GENRE: Dance – Breakbeat / Drum & Bass

DATE: 13/02/2012

“The Agony & The Ecstasy” is the second single off High Contrast’s forthcoming and highly anticipated fourth artist album with the same title. The eponymous single follows “The First Note Is Silent”, his massive collaboration with Tiësto and Underworld which marked the first single released from the new album.

Recording his debut album “True Colours” when he was only 22 and starting off as a virtual unknown, High Contrast has quickly become one of the most iconic and respected Drum & Bass producers around. His album “High Society” was voted by Knowledge Magazine as one of the top 3 jungle albums of the last 10 years, and he has received continuous support from Radio One, winning the radio show’s Essential Mix of the Year in 2007.

The title track of the EP features the beautiful vocals of upcoming star Selah Corbin, soaring over an energetic drum beat, organ and uplifting strings. The four-track release also includes the original mix and remix by CRST, as well as a deeper, haunting track, “Father, Can’t You See I’m Burning”. Watch out for the album, which is due to be released at the end of February through Hospital Records.


Beverley Knight – Round and Around

LABEL: Hurricane Records



DATE: 12/2/2012

5AM’s stunning remixes of UK soul sensation Beverley Knight’s “Round and Around”, which gave Beverley her 5th consecutive Urban Chart Top 10, have been released on a new EP.

The release includes a Radio Edit, Full Version and Extended Mix of 5AM’s reworks, as well as a remix by DJ Munro, as well as a new bonus remix of “Southern Freeez” which earned Beverley a slot in the Urban Top 5.

You can catch Beverley Knight in an interview with Loose Women on Valentine’s Day, to celebrate the launch of her Love Soul EP – tune in from 12:30pm!




YolanDa Brown – April Showers, May Flowers  

LABEL: Black Grape Records



DATE: 12/2/2012

Double MOBO Award winner for ‘Best Jazz’, saxophonist YolanDa Brown’s debut album is released today, as well as an announcement of a string of tour dates across the UK.

“April Showers, May Flowers” touches on jazz, soul and R&B, with the tracks influenced by love and life. The album by the premier saxophonist includes 8 saxophone tracks and 2 tracks showcasing her beautiful vocals for the first time (namely “Bitter Sweet” and “Without You”). Having sold out the Jazz Cafe London in December 2011, YolanDa’s long-awaited follow-up is already gaining lots of attention in all the right places.

Previously, YolanDa has toured with artists such as Errol Brown and Diana Krall, collaborated with artists including Mica Paris and Soweto Kinch and performed as a part of Jools Holland’s Rhythm & Blues Orchestra.

YolanDa will be touring the UK from tomorrow, starting at the HMV Hammersmith Apollo on 14th February with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.


Brontide – Coloured Tongues

LABEL: Holy Roar

FORMAT: Single

GENRE: Alternative

DATE: 13/02/2012

Brontide are a riff-heavy instrumental rock band, comprised of William Bowerman, Nathan Fairweather and Tim Hancock. With their name defined as “the low rumble of distant thunder”, the band have been described by Kerrang to “rumble like their name suggests and provide a droning, melodic, vocal-free counterpoint entirely suited to the occasion”, with their first EP “Sans Souci” hailed as being “hugely accomplished”.

Brontide return with a 2 song EP released through Holy Roar Records – “Coloured Tongues”, the brand new lilting, looped, epic dance track, along with the first ever proper recording of live set-favourite “MFBT”. The band is busy gigging this week, kicking off at Stereo in Glasgow tonight and playing The Lexington on 17th February.


Various Artists – Chronicle (Josh Trank’s Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

LABEL: Editions Milan Music


GENRE: Miscellaneous – Soundtrack – Movie

DATE: 30/01/2012

For all you Chronicle fans out there – the sci-fi drama movie about three high school friends who acquire mysterious superpowers is rolling out in cinemas across Europe from 1st February through to May, and the soundtrack for the film is also available for your ears (WW except US/CA/MX).

The soundtrack features music by twelve indie pop rock and electro bands, including M83, Simian Mobile Disco, Capsule, Bikini, Blonde Acid Cult and more.  Click the links below to check it out:





Ralph Good & Futuristic Polar Bears – Dance

LABEL: Tanzanite Records

FORMAT: Single

GENRE: Dance – House

DATE: 13/02/2012

This piano-led house track with Latin influences, featuring vocals by Marshall, has all the ingredients needed to get you moving on the dance floor. The track is a collaboration between Ralph Good of “The Good Guys” (DJ/Producer team in Switzerland) and the Futuristic Polar Bears, a DJ and Production outfit in the UK.

Ralph Good started off DJing Hip Hop and Garage House in the 90s, but quickly moved onto electronic music, launching “The Good Guys” in 2004, although at the end of 2010 the group decided to focus on their solo careers. Under his solo producer alias, Ralph Good can count tracks ‘SOS feat. Polina Griffith’ as well as remixes for Timbaland and Snoop Dog among his credits.

The Futuristic Polar Bears are no strangers to the dance music scene after 20 years of DJing experience, which has seen them individually playing all over the world. Describing themselves as “Energetic, Fun, Sociable, Music Loving House Nerds “, their production sees a unique blend of progressive and techno.

The three-track single includes an Ibiza Dub version of the track, as well as a rework by Tanzanite Records head honcho, Richard Dinsdale.