Artist: Wild Swim
Release: Echo
Label: Believe Recordings
Genre: Alternative

‘Echo’ is the debut single from super talented newcomers Wild Swim – released through Believe Recordings. Produced by the legendary Steve Osborne, it’s a stunning introduction to the Oxford five piece who have already drawn early comparisons to the likes of The XX, The Associates, Foals and Japan. ‘Echo’s gorgeous shifting textures and immersive soundscapes are offset by singer Richard Sansom’s remarkable, idiosyncratic baritone. The B side is the melancholic self-produced ‘Bright Eyes’, whose experimental electronica recalls the likes of James Blake.




Artist: Various Artists 
Release: Working Late, Vol. 1
Label: Tape Club Records
Genre: Alternative

Tape Club in association with Popular present a special tour – a live celebration of three stand-out acts who have all this Summer released acclaimed debut albums on the burgeoning London label – Dogtanion, Peter and Kerry and Laurel Collective.

To coincide with the tour, Tape Club Records will present their first compilation ‘Working Late Volume 1’ featuring their best releases since forming, including recent signing Emperor Yes.




Artist: The Twilight Sad
Release: No One Can Ever Know: The Remixes
Label: FatCat Records
Genre: Dance

FatCat Records present a remix album for The Twilight Sad’s acclaimed album ‘No One Can Ever Know’. The release features remixes from Liars, Tom Furse from The Horrors, Optimo, Com Truise, Breton and more. The Twilight Sad’s third studio album ‘No One Can Ever Know’ saw them bravely step in a new musical direction. Fresh influences such as Can, Autechre & PiL were digested, and an album thematically akin to ‘Holy Bible’ era Manics, or ‘The Downward Spiral’ era Nine Inch Nails gave existing fans something to think about.




Artist: Petite Noir
Release: Disappear
Label: Bad Life
Genre: Dance – Down Beat / Trip Hop

It’s been an extremely exciting couple of months for the 22 year old half-Congolese, half-Angolan solo artist Yannick Ilunga, aka Petite Noir. First of all his debut single ‘Till We Ghosts’ blew up, finding big support from The Guardian, Boiler Room and BBC Radio 1 amongst many others. ‘Disappear’ and B-side ‘Pressure’ is the next page in the Petite Noir story; like all his music, ‘Disappear’ is a unique concoction of influences, seamlessly fusing intricate contemporary electronics with his stirring, soulful vocal and African shuffles that echo is homeland.



Artist: Alice Russell
Release: Heartbreaker
Label: Tru Thoughts
Genre: R&B – Funk & Soul

‘Heartbreaker’ is the first single to be lifted from much loved British soul and blues singer Alice Russell’s upcoming fifth album, ‘To Dust’, which follows in February 2013. ‘Heartbreaker’ highlights the crisp, cutting edge production and eclectic influences which nestle alongside a love of vintage soul at the core of Alice Russell’s style, a sound honed over the years with co-writer and producer TM Juke. The perfect introduction to the new LP, the track sees Alice at her best, mixing soul with intoxicating gospel overtones. The release also features killer remixes by Falty DL and Yakine.




Artist: Yeasayer
Release: Reagan’s Skeleton
Label: Mute Artists
Genre: Alternative

The latest single to be taken from the acclaimed ‘Fragrant World’, is the gothic and very addictive ‘Reagan’s Skeleton’ – released through Mute. Time Out have endorsed the track, labeling it “a sure-fire dancefloor killer”.

The new video, featuring a live performance of ‘Reagan’s Skeleton’, is directed by acclaimed artist and film makers Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard who have previously collaborated with Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds.




Artist: Peter and Kerry
Release: Split For The City
Label: Tape Club Records
Genre: Alternative 

Electro-pop duo, and John Kennedy (XFM) favourites, Peter and Kerry release their new single ‘Split For The City’ through Believe Recordings/Tape Club Records. The track comes from the artfully well-observed debut album ‘La Trimouille’ (out now), and follows Kerry’s recent collaboration with Lapalux through Flying Lotus’s Brainfeeder label, plus Peter’s pioneering score for the recent Saddler’s Wells’ ballet Vanity Fowl. They are currently touring with Tape Club Records on their UK regional tour with Dogtanion and Laurel Collective.




Artist: Daniel Trim
Release: O Day EP
Label: Glasgow Underground
Genre: Dance – House – Deep

Outstanding release from Daniel Trim supported by Laurent Garnier, Tom Flynn, and Rob Da Bank.  Trim is a DJ from Barcelona who fuses rhythm and melody with the same kind of skill and panache as artists like Paul Kalkbrenner, but with that Iberian sense of how to make a party feel sunkissed – even in the middle of winter. ‘O Day’ is the stone-cold killer on this EP with it’s moody vibe; strings, hypnotic synths, wiggling rhythm and rubbery bass. It’s the kind of record you can completely lose yourself in as our European nights get darker and the clubs get re-energised.