We are proud to report that both Gregory Porter and Ian Shaw have been nominated at this year’s Jazz FM Awards. Ian Shaw has been nominated in the ‘UK Vocalist of the year’ category, and Gregory Porter in both the ‘Live UK shows of the year’ and the esteemed ‘Album Of The Year’ categories.

Gregory Porter’s ‘Be Good‘ is the album in the running for the top prize, which was released through Motema back in March of this year. He’ll go up against strong contender Robert Glasper, for his ‘Black Radio’ LP which was released around the same time. Welsh vocalist Ian Shaw is looking a strong candidate in his category, following his latest ‘A Ghost In Every Bar‘ release through Splash Point Records in August.

The winners will be announced at the Jazz FM Awards ceremony on January 31 at Number One Marylebone. The full list of nominees are below.


The Jazz FM Awards Nominees are:

International Jazz Artist
Kurt Elling
Brad Mehldau
Sonny Rollins

Cutting Edge Award for Jazz Innovation
Django Bates
Robert Glasper

Album Of The Year
Robert Glasper: Black Radio
Keith Jarrett: Sleeper
Pat Metheny: Unity Band
Gregory Porter: Be Good
John Surman: Saltash Bells
Ryan Truesdell: Centenial (Newly Discovered Works of Gil Evans)

Jazz Media

AllAboutJazz .com (website)
Do The Math (website of Ethan Iverson of The Bad Plus)
Jazzwise (magazine)

Best UK Newcomer
Beats & Pieces Big Band
Josh Arcoleo
Roller Trio

UK Jazz Artist of the Year
Neil Cowley Trio
Jamie Cullum

UK Vocalist of the year
Carleen Anderson
Liane Carroll
Ian Shaw

UK Instrumentalist of the year
Nathaniel Facey (saxophonist with Empirical)
Ivo Neame (pianist with Phronesis)
Phil Robson

Live UK shows of the year
Gregory Porter
PB Underground

Best UK Jazz Venue
Band on the Wall
Café Oto
Ronnie Scott’s